Man Camp Poker Night

Last night, photographer Brad DeCecco and I were thrilled to be invited to poker night at a man camp nearby. There were five men playing (six including Brad) and one other woman, Cindy, who works on the oil rigs and is the only woman who lives at the camp. I’ve been spending a lot of time with her lately and you’ll hear a lot more about her soon.

Poker night involved a lot of guy talk, tobacco chew, beer drinking (one guy could rip open the entire lid of a Bud Light can with his teeth), mixed drinks consisting of whiskey and Mountain Dew in the empty Bud Light cans, and of course, no toilet paper or hand soap in the bathroom. But I came away winning $20 and one guy now calls me the Card Shark.

Here are some great quotes from the night, mainly from one guy named Curtis:

“Going to the strip club is like going to the candy store with no money.”

“1986 was the last time I read a book.”

“The closer to pay day it gets, the longer the hand lasts.”

One guy, Mana, beats me with a pair of 5s. I had also told him I was a 49ers fan earlier in the night. “Hey Blaire, you remember those two 5s?” he says. “I do. It was just like watching the 49ers play the Superbowl. They didn’t quite make it.”

The cards come out / Photo by Brad DeCecco

The cards come out / Photo by Brad DeCecco

Mana laughs and Curtis stands in the background / Photo by Brad DeCecco

Mana laughs and Curtis stands in the background / Photo by Brad DeCecco

2 thoughts on “Man Camp Poker Night

  1. Blaire, I love what you guys are doing here! Already stoked to imagine what the final product will be.
    If you get any free time before leave town, it turns out, I will primarily be working in Williston for the next couple months. I’d love to snag a coffee with you and have another chat sometime!
    Keep up the good work!
    Dan

Leave a Reply

